like a slap

Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie, Friday Music Challenge: Kettering by the Antlers.

The Slap

tumblr_nvuoyizgSw1sfie3io1_1280

I say, “I stay ‘cuz still some love for you.”

You say, “I stay only to take care of you.”

I say, “Why stay. Can’t repay all the years

I took care of you.”

You say, “Why stay. I don’t care if you do.”

I say, “Have to stay. No where but you.”

You say, “Okay. Stay. Must take care of you

‘cuz it’s something you just can’t  do.”

I say, “Okay. But I still feel love for you.”

And, then you say:

“Okay, but I don’t care if you do.”

The lyrics of Kettering are a visceral punch in my gut. Poem  is uneven; first response to “the left jab outta now where feel” that leaves me staggering. Still have to hear the music.

2 thoughts on “like a slap

  1. I read the lyrics many times before and since I wrote my piece. We both captured a mood of strange loneliness. I read another sense to the words on much later consideration.
    “Strange how visions change like kaleidoscopes,” she mused.

    Like

the time has come, the walrus said, to talk of many things . . .

