one sock, two sock, gotta buy a new sock: socs

SoCS badge 2015

 

Mismatched red and green Merry Xmas knee socks by Red Lion.

 

 

 

The Joy of Socks

 

When mismatched socks became fashionable – I was able to let my feet out of the boots. For years, I’d been layering my single socks inside my boots – if the boots might come off, I’d make sure the top pair matched. I was giddy with delight. Somehow, every once in a full moon on Christmas, I become fashionable by being unfashionable.

But, not only were the mismatched coming out of their shoes, companies/craftspeople were profiting from the new craze. High-end “feel good” websites touted mismatched with luxurious names such as sylvan midnight; girly-girl clothes companies added ruffles, riffles, buttons, and even bows.

Gremlins steal my socks and sell them on the black sock market where a single anklet, slightly worn, can fetch as much as 16 gromets and 8 digifruites. Being gremlins, they only take one.

Imps or pixies might occasionally take a pair to make badminton nets or hot air balloons from. But at least you lost two.

It is as yet impossible to purchase a single sock. Or is it? Must check that out on the net. Hey, now there’s a business that could be profitable. Some folks are too fastidious to wear mismatched socks.

Written for SoCS, while wearing mismatched socks, December 25/26: socks

Look what I found at UncommonGoods: Mismatched Knee Socks for $23.00

 

19 thoughts on “one sock, two sock, gotta buy a new sock: socs

  1. Gremlins steal my socks and sell them on the black sock market where a single anklet, slightly worn, can fetch as much as 16 gromets and 8 digifruites. Being gremlins, they only take one.

    Love this aspect! for as frustrating as it may be – and are you sure you might not now pay the price for such disclosure? perhaps better to keep an eye on the drawers ;)

    Like

  2. Oh a great response my friend, the single sock is the bane of my life, though I eliminated such issues by throwing away said single sock in favour of a new PAIR…..have a great Christmas day….

    Like

the time has come, the walrus said, to talk of many things . . .

