Blogging U., Assignment 1 The Whos and the Whys; the Whys and the Whos

waterhouse study of a girl

John William Waterhouse

“Who am I and why do I blog” She contemplated at the question, assignment #1, for hours. She wrote, then abandoned almost 1000 words on the subject. To be honest, she no longer was sure why. She’d answered the question before – when she seemed to have direction and purpose; when creativity was sparking; when stories wrote themselves and characters developed on their own.

But now? Feeling the stalest in all matters of her life ever, she struggled with the answer like she struggled with every post. There was no reason other than habit.

Blogging was painful and an energy vampire – just as life was. Without dreams and possibilities, stories held no joy or narrative. Tales trailed off into mangled piles of words and paragraphs. Days dragged by in grey, tears, pain.

Maybe, going through the motions, the reasons for being, for blogging, would return. Until then, many long hours staring at the screen wondering who she was and why. Wherefore and why.

Written for Blogging U. Assignment #1: Today’s assignment: write and publish a “who I am and why I’m here” post on your blog. (January 4, 2016)

Gordon Lightfoot: Wherefore and Why (1968)

When I woke this mornin’, something inside of me told me this would be my day
I heard the morning train, I felt the wind change, too many times I’m on my way
Come on sunshine, what can you show me
Where can you take me to make me understand
The wind can shake me, brothers forsake me
The rain can touch me, but can I touch the rain
And then I saw the sunrise above the cotton sky like a candycane delight
I saw the milkman, I saw the business man, I saw the only road in sight
Then I got to thinkin’ what makes you want to go, to know the wherefore and the why
So many times now, oh Lord I can’t remember if it’s September or July
Then all at once it came to me, I saw the wherefore, and you can see it if you try
It’s in the sun above, it’s in the one you love, you’ll never know the reason why
Come on sunshine, what can you show me
Where can you take me to make me understand
The wind can shake me, brothers forsake me
The rain can touch me, but can I touch the rain
So much to lose, so much to gain

One thought on “Blogging U., Assignment 1 The Whos and the Whys; the Whys and the Whos

the time has come, the walrus said, to talk of many things . . .

