I’m a spider from Mars: In Memorium: David Bowie–Changes

I’ll always be a spider from Mars . . .

to me, you made abnormal seem

to be the norm

you had the mesmerizing ability

to reinvent yourself

to play with hard-edged whimsy

each change, effortless, smooth

with the panache and artistry

of your chameleonness

I lunge awkwardly between

this me and that me

but you flowed like

your music, your rhythms

no less, no more,

that each transformation

you weren’t quite Lazarus*

in the very end but then

your music, your flash, your charisma

will never be completely dead

and I will always be a spider from mars

Written for Song Lyrics Sunday, hosted by Helen Espinosa, This Thing Called Life One Word at a Time (David Bowie, “Changes”) and Just Jot It January, hosted by Linda G. Hill, Life in Progress, January 11, effortless (suggested by: Dan Antion at No Facilities).

Oh, yeah
Mmm
Still don’t know what I was waitin’ for
And my time was runnin’ wild
A million dead end streets and
Every time I thought I’d got it made
It seemed the taste was not so sweet
So I turned myself to face me
But I’ve never caught a glimpse of
How the others must see the faker
I’m much too fast to take that test
Ch-ch-ch-ch-changes
Turn and face the strange
Ch-ch-changes
Don’t want to be a richer man
Ch-ch-ch-ch-changes
Turn and face the strange
Ch-ch-changes
Just gonna have to be a different man
Time may change me
But I can’t trace time
Mmm, yeah I watch the ripples change their size
But never leave the stream
Of warm impermanence
So the days float through my eyes
But still the days seem the same
And these children that you spit on
As they try to change their worlds
Are immune to your consultations
They’re quite aware of what they’re goin’ through
Ch-ch-ch-ch-changes
Turn and face the strange
Ch-ch-changes
Don’t tell them to grow up and out of it
Ch-ch-ch-ch-changes
Turn and face the strange
Ch-ch-changes
Where’s your shame
You’ve left us up to our necks in it
Time may change me
But you can’t trace time
Strange fascination, fascinatin’
Ah, changes are takin’
The pace I’m goin’ through
Ch-ch-ch-ch-changes
Turn and face the strange
Ch-ch-changes
Oh, look out you rock ‘n’ rollers
Ch-ch-ch-ch-changes
Turn and face the strange
Ch-ch-changes
Pretty soon now you’re gonna get older
Time may change me
But I can’t trace time I said that time may change me
But I can’t trace time

* Lazarus was an off-Broadway play involving his cult classic movie: The Man Who Fell To Earth. A movie that has special meaning in my life.

Knowing for 18 months there was limited time left in his life, he continued as if tomorrow would always dawn. A video he made of the song, Lazarus, (from his last album, Black Star) has folks thinking he was telegraphing his death. An incredible person. Miss you.

11 thoughts on “I’m a spider from Mars: In Memorium: David Bowie–Changes

  1. Morgaine620 says:

    Lovely post. I wrote about him on my other blog: He has shown that you do not need to attach a category to yourself or your art but can let creative energy flow freely, and it will take care of itself.

    I am not a huge Bowie fan but I always admired his versatility. Thanks for sharing

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, David Bowie escaped labels, and just when you thought you knew his style, his music, his genre — he would flip, switch, flinch. But do it so elegantly, it never seemed like a fad or pandering.
      “I think we can all take something away from Bowie’s life: his words, his music, his ability to transcend description,” she added. “Thank you for reading and commenting on my memorium.”

      Liked by 2 people

    • I “read” a play by play version of his Lazarus video. It would be hard to watch before his death — even harder after.
      As I have a special place for the Man Who Fell to Earth, I think I will find it hard to listen/watch material for/from the play, Lazarus. Strange to have just listened to an NPR story about Bowie and the play at most two or three days before he died.
      “I agree,” she nodded, “Time is needed when someone like Bowie dies to watch their final work. Does it foreshadow, you wonder, what he knew was inevitable?”

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Your poem is beautiful!

    I have to admit that I was never a huge David Bowie fan, but after listening to his music and reading his fantastic lyrics the last few days, I’ve come to have a whole new respect for him. Thanks again for participating and for sharing this amazing song! :)

    Like

the time has come, the walrus said, to talk of many things . . .

