I was a do do

 

I believe in karma. I believe in reincarnation. This time around, I’m paying big time for my last life.

I’m sure last time I was a big-time 19th century industrialist/robber baron who stripped the earth of it’s valuables: trees, plants, animals. Laughing, smoking a cigar, and exploiting the proletariat.

So, I’ve spent a life-time watching the world collapse around me. I remember the shock of learning what extinction meant when applied to a creature other than dinosaurs and prehistoric mammals.

I carry around images of what we’ve lost: tropical/rain forests; old growth/virgin forests; non-existent or existing only in a zoo/preserve setting reptiles, animals, plants and birds.

Seems I always manage to live where the environment is under pressure (not surprising) and various groups are jockeying for position.

Now, I’m forced to drive on mall and store lined highways. As recent as 20 years ago, it was all farmland.

I’ve been worried about climate change since talk of the hole in the ozone layer. So the word climate produces the same nausea, anxiety, and dread as thinking about rain forests, or lemurs or golden frogs or dodos.

Visiting a museum in London a few years ago, I went a special exhibit on Victorian from the colonies. Saw my first dodo, looking a tad scruffy, taxidermed and put under glass. So much for conservation. So much for the future.

My next life? Well, I haven’t saved a species . .  yet.

Two interesting articles on extinction: how many animals are exactly going extinct & biodiversity loss: how accurate are the numbers?

Written for Just Jot It January, hosted by Linda G. Hill @ life in progress, January 19: climate

the time has come, the walrus said, to talk of many things . . .

