I live with a ghost

 

waterhouse a female study

 

I live with a ghost in the morning

smell burnt toast

laced with coffee and cream

days house creaks, boards moan

but I am not haunted nor alone

hear footsteps in the lane

up from the bus stop shoosh

I live with a ghost eveningtide

chicken soup steams kitchen window

clink of bowl and spoon

rustle of newspaper pages

as the light strains

against the panes

drift of voice, conversation

movie on tv

flickering tongues of

empassioned images

moon passage fat thin

I stalk the halls within

shake of bed when

very late at night

I tiptoe in to

listen for sleep-breath

I live with a ghost then too.

 

For Just Jot It January, hosted by Linda G. Hill, @ life in progress. January 29: ghost, suggested by ghostmmnc @ teleporting weena

11 thoughts on “I live with a ghost

the time has come, the walrus said, to talk of many things . . .

