melancholy seeps into the spaces between my breaths

by mistake, I listen and the too familiar

floods, and I stumble,

while the ancient carpet lifts

[melancholy seeps

into the spaces between

my breaths]

undulating, flying me

to places I can not go

where blood and pain wash

the landscapes red

[melody bleeds

into the gaps between

my memory]

all those jagged edges tear fabric, tear flesh

old wounds flayed open,

the too familiar floods

[music melts

into the silence between

my tears]

trigger of a slice of you stabs

at my heart

trigger of my gun for release beside

my head

 

Poetry 101 Rehab: trigger

 

© a darkened house (adh) 2016

4 thoughts on “melancholy seeps into the spaces between my breaths

the time has come, the walrus said, to talk of many things . . .

