puppy love

public-domain-images-free-high-resolution-quality-photos-uns

http://publicdomainarchive.com/public-domain-images-black-lab-puppy-on-rustic-wood-background/

The opening sentence for the February 12th, Flash Fiction for the Purposeful Practitioner: “……. For the thousandth time, I promise you, it wasn’t me!”

“……. For the thousandth time, I promise you, it wasn’t me!”

By now, I was down on my knees pleading. Tabatha was not a woman to be toyed with, or lied to. Only one slight indiscretion she had no clue about in 3 years of marriage. But she had her Valentine hate on. 

“I’ve been as loyal as a puppy, as a lab. Just ask around, they’ll tell you. Tabatha, sweetie, firebird, there’s only you.”

They being my drinking buddies and co-workers. We needed each other for alibis, excuses, rewrites. Always ready to nod should Tabatha storm into our local pub.

Her friend swore a man of my description was seen dining at Amore Café with a much younger woman. Sweat was creeping down the back of my neck.

Really wasn’t me! At the time I was cozying up to a little cutie at the pub, just for the practice.

“Since you think you’re as loyal as a puppy . . .”

I scratched behind my ear, and looked up at her with puppy dog eyes. I wondered how long I’d be Rover instead of Roger. {186 words}

31 thoughts on “puppy love

the time has come, the walrus said, to talk of many things . . .

