“Beam Me Up Scotty”

As the mob began to gather at the far end of the beach, I calculated my available time. 15.45 minutes. I began locking coordinates into my shifter, allowing for wind and drift.

I continued to record as the sound of angry inhabitants rolled along the path and engulfed me. The old t-shirt logo “Beam me up, Scotty. There is no intelligent life on this planet” came to mind.

No planet seemed quite ready to accept me. Sigh. I gave a small wave to the horde, and shifted out of the zone. I phased back in on a similar path. Let’s see what this version was like. {104 words}

 

Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers, hosted by Priceless Joy (and she is), week of February 16, 2016. And thank you, T. J. Paris for the fascinating photograph!

12 thoughts on ““Beam Me Up Scotty”

the time has come, the walrus said, to talk of many things . . .

