free flight

A free write, free verse response to the photograph. No thought (obviously Winking smile), no editing, no stopping. Didn’t go where I intended, but that’s a free fall free write for ya.

sparrow-3

 

where go the wounded then

the broken, the betrayed

flight feathers gone

and darkness running deep

 

I hear only an echo

a shadow of once was

jesses on my ankles

keep me earthbound

hood deprives me

of the sky

 

I am the once was

the broken, the betrayed

share with me an image

of true flight

a reflection of my past

that I might take

wing again

the broken healed

by every current, every thermal

 

As I go from earth to sky

I cry out in joy of ownness

leave master’s glove hand

a lonely perch for ghosts

who once languished there

 

I know where the wounded go

they go where wounds are no longer

 

Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie Photo Challenge 101

6 thoughts on “free flight

  1. CPP says:

    Oh stunning! Simply stunning and breathtaking! Wow! The words are just resounding in my head – dancing before my eyes – what an incredible SoC – it truly is brilliant. Honestly.

    where go the wounded then
    the broken, the betrayed
    flight feathers gone
    and darkness running deep

    Now that is such a haunting opening …. and it all just follows on the wings and feathers of this …. I can feel the pain …. the loss … the yearning ….

    Thank you so much for your response to the challenge adh :)

    Pat

    Like

the time has come, the walrus said, to talk of many things . . .

