china tea cup so thin you could see tomorrow through it

Collage 18

“You’re so brave and quiet, I forget you’re suffering,” my mother crooned as she rocked next to my bed.

She had escaped from the attic and remembered through her cobwebs how to find my room.

She smiled at me, a flash of lucidity in her eyes. From the pocket of her tattered, faded flowered smock she brought out my present, pressing its coldness into my hands.

My mother made me dolls. Toys with maniacal smiles and lunacy eyes. Dolls as cracked and inhuman on the outside as she felt on the inside.

It was  game to hide my latest treasure so it would not be found and whisked away. To give no hint of my mother’s midnight creep.

I often dreamt of her. I’d float on the ceiling on her half of the garret, looking down at her work table, her favourite teacup and saucer to the side.

The china one so thin and opaque, you could see tomorrow through it.

“You’re so brave and quiet, I forget you’re suffering,” I say, touching my mother’s cold, sad hands. She sits at the work table studying her tea cup now, more than working on her creations.

I turn back to my work – rip the film out of the camera. No one but us are allowed to see those pictures. I’ll make more for the world, like the ones on the table, later. When mother isn’t so sad.

 

Inspired by yet another amazing collage by Yves. (Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie, Writing Prompt # 149; collage #18) There are so many stories in here! This is but one.

The quote, “You’re so brave and quiet I forget you’re suffering” is by Ernest Hemingway

 

@ a darkened house (adh)

 

17 thoughts on “china tea cup so thin you could see tomorrow through it

  1. “She had escaped from the attic and remembered through her cobwebs how to find my room.”
    I think this is one of the best pieces I have read from you my friend. The above line and this one:
    ” The china one so thin and opaque, you could see tomorrow through it.”
    I love how you have created such beautiful word images. Excellent piece and so heart rending…..your character shows such compassion…

    Like

    • “Thank you, kind sir,” she started. “As I mentioned to Yves, it’s really her pictures that tell the tales, I merely record what they are saying. I give her collages a voice.”
      “My mother had a couple of Spode china plates left from her great-grandmother’s set. They were so thin, I had always wanted a way to describe their translucency. I realized how this afternoon.”

      Liked by 1 person

  2. wildchild47 says:

    My mother made me dolls. Toys with maniacal smiles and lunacy eyes. Dolls as cracked and inhuman on the outside as she felt on the inside.

    What amazing lines! And the repetition of the quote, from the different narrator – awesome!

    Great little tale here – really evocative and provocative – totally captures a bleakness, a deeper sadness … as well as secrets.

    Like

the time has come, the walrus said, to talk of many things . . .

