Escher and me (or is it I)

arno-rafael-minkkinen-28

Arno Rafael Minkkinen

NEKNEERAJ has once again chosen an exquisite image for Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie’s Photo Challenge. The Escher image came to mind as soon as I saw AR Minkkinen’s photograph. The prosetry kinda just blurped out. It’s unedited, which means raw but not a brilliant piece of stream of consciousness or automatic writing. It just is.

Escher fascinates me – some images are indelibly etched on my brain as well as on his paper.

Drawing HandsM.C. Escher · 1948

Escher and I play chess

you see

well, not like Spock in Star Trek

but not like Boris Spassky either

we play word chess

you see

words are pawns and kings

it’s all in the placement

Escher argues it’s the space too

So I find myself in strange places

pen in hand, ready to respond

Sometimes he cheats

He has already ascended

so can write on water

his words spinning out like

skipped rock circles

or spinning in?

I stand, up to my ears

in the cold collective thought of

water,

(Escher is taller than me)

shiver and say

“check me” for him

I can’t write on water

some days I can hardly

write at all

and my friend Escher?

He is always searching for

a worthy combatant for

word chess – perhaps you’d like to play

but be careful, he does cheat, even if

he arrives for our games with

feathers growing from his angel bones.

32 thoughts on “Escher and me (or is it I)

  1. Funny little story. I had a t-shirt with that Esther image on it, I didn’t realize until after I wore it that it looked like the Hans were cupping my breasts.
    Embarrassing for an insecure college girl.

    I love your imagery though.
    I’m sure cheats.

    Like

  2. wildchild47 says:

    Sometimes he cheats
    He has already ascended
    so can write on water
    his words spinning out like
    skipped rock circles

    I stand, up to my ears
    in the cold collective thought of
    water,

    but be careful, he does cheat, even if
    he arrives for our games with
    feathers growing from his angel bones.

    These are such wonderful images expressed, caught, captured, what have you, for a pseudo SoC …. and it’s a wonderful connection between the 2 artists – naturally I too thought how much like Escher …. and what an interesting concept, chess …. it’s like an ongoing game/dialogue … well done adh :)

    Like

the time has come, the walrus said, to talk of many things . . .

