triggers

When I posted, “he binds her to him,” I included a caveat about sex and violence, a warning that the prosetry might trigger memories for those dealing with a violent abusive relationship.

Even if someone is strong, has a support network to turn to, & learned to deal with the visible and invisible scars, something small as a grain of sand — a trigger need not be as large as a sand storm/ can act as a trigger. To bring you back to a place you don’t want to be. I have my triggers, and as I loose my strength or regress, I discover new ones. I’m learning to face them as part of my healing process.

Untitled-2

In my own convoluted way: sorry if you read “he binds her” and it’s ugliness contained triggers that caused pain.

One thought on “triggers

  1. You don’t need to apologize for your poetry.
    I speaks volumes.
    I’m always glad when people can get out some of their angst on paper.
    Even if it reminds me of my past, it also reminds me of how far I’ve come.
    “I’m learning to face them as part of my healing process”
    I’m here for you.

    Like

the time has come, the walrus said, to talk of many things . . .

