the matter of mars

my life

can be determined by

the matter of Mars

from mid-May ‘til

earliest of June

Mars, the red planet

the warrior planet

should shimmer/twinkle

deepest, brightest red

sky-gazing in my experience

falls into a few categories

and parameters

the phenomenon doesn’t happen

like the year the Perseids were

to blanket the sky

be too thick to count –

sorry, but  my neck still hurts

from hours of waiting for the

blanket on the blanket

the phenomenon happens

but I don’t see it

99.9% of my sky-gazing

on those special nights

is through clouds thin

or thick

meteorologist says “clear weather all this week,

so the when the night skies . . . “

I say “going to be cloudy every night

with a good chance of rain.”

the phenomenon happens

and I plan to and do

see it .01%

the last pass of MIR around earth

a pass or two of the space station

the planet alignment (maybe)

the phenomenon I didn’t know about

but saw

swirling, twirling “bright object” crossing the sky

(NASA maintains “space junk,” “old satellite” but . . .)

the green-dancing glow of the northern lights

in southern-eastern Maritimes

tonight I realized that its

the matter of Mars

did I see it?

two reddish roundish pin-pricks of light

one could have been Mars

(night light pollution)

neither moved – not planes

or interplanetary travelers

so, when someone asks:

did you see Mars, I can say maybe, maybe not

(you guessed it, nights planned for watching were cloudy, often rainy. Much like in Camelot I guess.)*

*R. Burton, J. Andrews, on Ed. Sullivan song; Burton sings [in] Camelot from the Broadway show

 

*It’s true! It’s true! The crown has made it clear.
The climate must be perfect all the year. . . .

. . .  In Camelot.
Camelot! Camelot!
I know it sounds a bit bizarre,
But in Camelot, Camelot
That’s how conditions are.
The rain may never fall till after sundown.
By eight, the morning fog must disappear.

the time has come, the walrus said, to talk of many things . . .

