runcible spoon

The Owl and the Pussycat from Edward Lear's poem (illustrator unknown) via tumblr.:

the owl & the pussy cat

we don’t need no pea green boat

no we don’t, we can just float

we don’t need no five pound note

no we don’t, we can just float

follow me, out on the sea

flow with me, into the sea

get out the guitar, and strum

listen to our bodies hum

we don’t need no ring

we don’t need no bling

follow me, out on the sea

flow with me, into the sea

cuz you ain’t no pussy cat

and I ain’t no owl

I just want to make ferocious love

right here and right now

wanna make ya howl, make ya yawl

we’ll land on an isle, some dot in the sea

just you and me, yeah babe, you and me

and under the leering moon

under the lurching moon

with our runcible spoon

yeah, with our runcible spoon

 

Composition: a riff on Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie, Friday Music Prompt 45: No Other Love by Chuck Prophet: a large debt to Edward Lear, small nod a MLMM participant who wrote lovingly of sailing back and worth across the seas, and a teary wistfulness.

 

 

3 thoughts on “runcible spoon

the time has come, the walrus said, to talk of many things . . .

