sweet rest

Three poems: a tilus and a shadorma on war and peace; and a silly rhyme about gardening inspired by Michael G.’s lovely poem.

These are my contributions to A Dash of Sunny’s Prompt Nights: By Popular Demand: Rest is the Sweet Sauce of Labour. Now, I think I’ll go take a nap.

http://talesfromamother.blogspot.com: image

engage struggle battle

lay down sword

rest

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

war monger

so battle weary

broken sword

battered shield

paid solider of fortune’s fate

let peace wash over you

 

chartreuse from bridgewater

I tended my garden

I tended it very well

neighbours envious

I could easily tell

plants began to disappear

on full moon nights

I knew who but

couldn’t put it right.

Each time I would

have to begin again

Oh, so disheartening

and trying dear friend

then I learned to

my everlasting delight

those plants stolen

when I was out of sight

didn’t grow

to sway and dance

to feel the sun

to glow and prance

stubbornly they

wanted home

the plants

used their voice

the thieving neighbours

had no choice

but to return and replant

what they had taken

my missing plants

feel less forsaken

and as my garden gnome

the one who travels far

said it’s for the best

garden lady, now take

your sweet rest

 

http:roaminggnomestore.com

@ adh 2016

12 thoughts on “sweet rest

  1. Such fun, your garden poem, I can relate so well, although my thief is a large rabbit :-) And also your words on rest after battle – sometimes the better part of argument is the peace that settles on us when it’s over – win or lose. Enjoyed your writing very much :-)

    Like

    • “Yes, I’ve got my wildlife too,” she nodded. “Rabbits, squirrels, opossum, raccoon, skunk, and ground hog. Each has it’s favourite — oh and the chipmunks too,” she laughed. “They seem to think we plant the garden for their enjoyment too.”

      Like

  2. georginamorley says:

    Wonderful pieces…strange how the topic of rest has created so much work lol. You and your gnome are far better souls than I…for the full moon would have fuelled much vengeance in me *no rest for the wicked* :D XXX

    Like

  3. Whistles!! Such a glorious perspective on peace and rest :D enjoyed the many facets of your gorgeous poem especially “the plants used their voice, the thieving neighbors” gave me goosebumps. Beautifully penned. Thank you so much for participating at Prompt Nights and for your constant love and support :D

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

    Like

the time has come, the walrus said, to talk of many things . . .

