the left wall in Thomas Jefferson’s Library

photo-20160620054715745

Still not proper. The left side didn’t lean in at the correct angle. I kept referring from the photo sheet to the reconstituted room.

Even with all the CGI, some actors, writers and directors craved and demanded “the real thing.” This imagined real thing often either never existed or no longer exists. Houses, landscapes, items of every day life are endangered or go extinct.

That’s where I come in. I’m a special reno-type: I translate the image in the director’s mind into a template, time shift, distort, reinvent, reconstitute for filming. All with no green screen. It is 1812 outside. That is Chartres Cathedral under construction. Those are loaded dueling pistols, Mr. Burr.

A little memory manipulation and life returns to . . . well . . . sometimes . . . a slightly new normal. Like the Library in Thomas Jefferson’s house and the leaning wall. As long as the books stay on the shelves . . .  (159)

 

Composed for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers #71.

16 thoughts on “the left wall in Thomas Jefferson’s Library

  1. “Mr. Burr, sir…if you will only aim for the sky….we might know more about who you were.”

    OK, tense shift. Time travel, memory travel…and I’m overtired. But this was amazing! =)

    Like

  2. A very intriguing take on the prompt indeed. The memory manipulation is fascinating as it left me wondering if possible one day through techonology. The imagery too is very good! I enjoyed reading this.

    Like

    • “Thank you, I am glad you enjoyed my story.” she said. “The picture was intriguing, and I got the thought in my head, what if the shift was due to time manipulation, then as you say memory manipulation.”

      Like

  3. Great job with this prompt! I was especially hooked by the last few lines. Strong imagery and voice. I love it!

    Here are the lines that really got me:

    [[All with no green screen. It is 1812 outside. That is Chartres Cathedral under construction. Those are loaded dueling pistols, Mr. Burr.

    A little memory manipulation and life returns to . . . well . . . sometimes . . . a slightly new normal. Like the Library in Thomas Jefferson’s house and the leaning wall. As long as the books stay on the shelves…]]

    Like

the time has come, the walrus said, to talk of many things . . .

