hv/100 = a to z: expulsion of the Acadians

L’Acadie, 1755:

We walked to the shore through a phalanx of English soldiers in those damnable red coats. I held Jacqueline’s hand, and the bundled quilt with some food. I almost burst into tears when one soldier grabbed for it. Another said, “Enough has been taken, Davidson.” As I turned to see my beloved Grand Pré one last time, the soldiers had already put the torch to our houses, our barns, our fields. Our men were somewhere back there, too. The family remained fractured; Mamon, Jacqueline and I managed to stay together, making our way to Louisiana. Cajuns not Acadians now.

Acadia Driftwood

(Robbie Robertson [writer] and the Band including the late Levon Helm, Amy’s father)

The war was over and the spirit was broken
The hills were smokin’ as the men withdrew
We stood on the cliffs
Oh, and watched the ships
Slowly sinking to their rendezvous
They signed a treaty and our homes were taken
Loved ones forsaken
They didn’t give a damn
Try to raise a family
End up the enemy
Over what went down on the plains of Abraham

[Chorus]

Acadian driftwood
Gypsy tail wind
They call my home the land of snow
Canadian cold front movin’ in
Oh, what a way to ride
Oh, what a way to go

Then some returned to the motherland
The high command had them cast away
Some stayed on to finish what they started
They never parted
They’re just built that way
We had kin livin’ south of the border

They’re a little older and they’ve been around
They wrote a letter, life here is a whole lot better
So pull up your stakes, children and come on down

[Chorus]

Fifteen under zero when the day became a threat
My clothes were wet and I was drenched to the bone
Been out ice fishing, too much repetition
Make a man wanna leave the only home he’s known
Sailing out of the gulf headin’ for Saint Pierre
Nothin’ to declare

All we had was gone

Broke down along the coast
But what hurt the most
When the people there said
“You better keep movin’ on”

Everlasting summer filled with ill-content
This government had us walkin’ in chains
This isn’t my turf
This ain’t my season
Can’t think of one good reason to remain
I’ve worked in the sugar fields up from New Orleans
It was evergreen up until the floods
You could call it an omen

Points you where you’re goin’
Set my compass north
I got winter in my blood

[Chorus]

Sais tu, Acadia, j’ai le mal do pays
Ta neige, Acadia, fait des larmes au soleil
J’arrive, Acadia, j’ai le mal do pays
Ta neige, Acadia, fait des larmes au soleil

 landscape of Grand Pre

(web cam of area)

4 thoughts on “hv/100 = a to z: expulsion of the Acadians

    • I used to show the segment when they leave the fort as it is gruesome but within scope. A student who was a re-enactor said the movie used a lot of re-enactors, including a friend of his.
      My students always said it was just because I wanted to watch Daniel Day Lewis. Some truth in that.;)

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hah! When I told my husband I’d already seen it, he said that I could choose a different movie. I said “Oh, no, that’s OK. I don’t mind watching Daniel Day Lewis run around in a loincloth again.”

        Like

        • The joke with my sister-in-law who is a big fan of the movie and the loincloth is when we’re over for supper, afterwards she says, “Let’s watch Last of the Mohicans,” and there is a groan from the 2 males, and I saw, ‘I don’t mind.'”

          Liked by 1 person

the time has come, the walrus said, to talk of many things . . .

