You & I

Collage 26

“I’d written a couple of things before I submitted facing you for Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie Writing Prompt # 165 and Collage #26. Yves asked if I was going to submit the second almost whole poem,” she began.

“I replied, ‘ might do something in prose.’”

“So, below is a hybrid of a partial poem and a partial piece of flash – not prosetry, not a prose poem, a ?,” she said shrugging her shoulders with a tiny twinkle in her eye.

You and I sat on benches under starblanket skies. Talked for hours, never saying a word. Smiles in the darkness; kisses in the night.

You and I.

You and I walked the tracks for miles. Holding hands across the rails. Steadying me against tumbles into waterful ditches of muskrat and bulrush.

You and I.

You and I are smoke and mirrors. You and I are slight of hand. You and I are the great pretenders.

You and I.

You and I lived in ancient houses. Creaking walls and slanted floors. Empty rooms with foreign echoes. Sleeping in pillows on the floor.

You and I.

You and I planted blood red roses and snow white peonies. Dirt under our nails, we lay cupped in beds of wildflowers. Buzz of honey bee.

You and I.

You and I were smoke and mirrors. You and I were slight of hand. You and I are were the great pretenders.

You and I.

 

© adh [a darkened house]

11 thoughts on “You & I

the time has come, the walrus said, to talk of many things . . .

