the Lazarus berry

hands

your fingernails black as the berry

your heart entwined with it’s thorns

is it berry juice stain that drips from your lips

or blood you drank from my soul

if I am yours forever

will you always feed on me

is this the price I pay to be your lover

to be the Lazarus of your essence

to live and die so that your spirit

can seduce me through the night

oh your lips are black like the berry

my heart entwined with your thorns

for Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie Photo Challenge #125

© adh [a darkened house]

4 thoughts on “the Lazarus berry

the time has come, the walrus said, to talk of many things . . .

