Song Lyrics Sunday: Re-blog of Sound of Silence, cover by David Draiman and Disturbed

Cheat, cheat, cheat – all due to the humid heat, heat, heat. To be honest, my brain is mushy, squishy and a general yiky mess. So, I’m re-blogging the prompt post I did for Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie Friday Night Music Prompt on August 5, 2016 for my Song Lyric Sunday. Why?

Well, two of the 3 videos are of David Draiman, front man for the heavy metal band, Disturbed, singing the iconic “Sound of Silence.” If you are a folkie like me, then “iconic” refers to Simon & Garfunkel) but I was absolutely blown away by Draiman. I did listen to their heavy metal stuff – not my type of music – but man, can that guy sing. I hope he tries some more icons. And the official video takes a unique view of the lyrics.

Not that I haven’t enjoyed what I’ve had a chance to listen to – just nothing “stuck” like an ear-worm, my judgment of a song I will learn to love on the level of my top 10. But hey, most of the time I’m all caught up in the poetic of the lyrics and forget to listen to the total package. I’ve enjoyed participating, and due to a variety of reasons, haven’t visited and listened to as many folks as I should. Don’t know if/when that will change, but I sure hope it does.

img_1345

I should add that this Song Lyric Sunday, Helen suggested we blog music we’ve discovered through participating in this prompt. As you can tell, I am a melted pool of blogging dna. 

 

Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

the_sound_of_silence_by_taffmeister-d2e05nu

taffmeister (Sounds of Silence on deviantart.com)

 In December 2015, the heavy metal band, Disturbed, fronted by David Draiman, released a cover of Simon and Garfunkel’s iconic, the Sound of Silence (1964). I’ve included 3 versions of the song: a performance by Draiman and Disturbed on the Conan O’Brien show; the band’s official music video, and an unadorned version by Simon and Garfield as originally recorded in 1964.

Do mid-1960s lyrics resonate within the 2015/16 world? Does the music video and Simon and Garfunkel’s 1960s imagery convey the same meanings? Is this heavy folk or folk metal or a hybrid? Just a few things you might consider as listen. Listen with open ears: are you dismayed or relieved at the “heavy metal” quality of Draiman, et.al’s version. And, don’t let the facial piercings distract you.

 

 

 

Hello darkness, my old friend
I’ve come to talk with you again
Because a vision softly creeping
Left its…

View original post 322 more words

4 thoughts on “Song Lyrics Sunday: Re-blog of Sound of Silence, cover by David Draiman and Disturbed

the time has come, the walrus said, to talk of many things . . .

