the fuschine-coloured bodice

With his new lap top, an amazing photo has been offered up for Sunday Photo Fiction. Congrats on the new machine!

MaMa swooned onto the fainting couch, her hand, grasping a handkerchief, to her brow.

PaPa  drew so deep on his cigar, he had a coughing fit, turning even redder.

Missy giggled, and the maid tried desperately not to. Unable to keep the perfect servile face and thus a servant’s position, she bobbed a curtsey, “Ma’am, shall I take Missy to the Nursery and summon the nannie?” Missy made a point of stomping out.

MaMa whined, “In polite society, my dear. Have you gone mad.”

“Like great-Aunt Julliette,” I asked ever so politely. As she married a contortionist and joined the circus, we were never to speak of her.

Crossing my fingers, so as to not really tell a lie, I said “Glendina Richardson-Smythe at Miss Dina Smythe-Richardson’s tea, said it was all the rage in Paris.” Truthfully, I read it in a magazine, something MaMa’s doctor  assured her would cause my brain to swell, and explode inside my skull.

“It” was the fuchsine-coloured* low-necked bodice on one of my new dresses for this fall’s fashionable balls, dinners, and concerts. My couturière purred the colour was perfect for my pale complexion and amethyst eyes.

That was not the first nor last time I played with societal norms. As for the fuschine dress, dear reader, do you think I wore it to the Richardson-Smythe ball?

*Fuchsia is a vivid purplish red color, named after the flower of the fuchsia plant, which took its name from the 16th century German botanist Leonhart Fuchs. The color fuchsia was first introduced as the color of a new aniline dye called fuchsine, patented in 1859 by the French chemist Francois-Emmanuel Verguin.

 At least I hope it’s a fuchsia!!!!!!!!!

© adh [a darkened house]

13 thoughts on “the fuschine-coloured bodice

  1. I enjoyed this take. You could really tell what destain she had for polite society and her dresses even. Although, I do like the colour fuchsia. Love the quote on where the dye originated. Nice write!

    Like

  2. Nicely crafted story, although I must confess that high society, haute couture, and even colours are outwith the sphere of expertise of this colour blind Glaswegian.
    But whimsy I enjoy, nonetheless.

    Like

    • Glad you enjoy whimsy. My colour-blind friend, as a teen-ager, went shopping on his own (no mother, girl friend) and was so pleased to have found a nice pair of brown corduroy pants. Brown to him, fuchsia to everyone else. Your comment reminded me of his story.

      Like

  3. It is a Fuchsia. Or more accurately a Fuchsia Magellanica

    I enjoyed that story. Although I’m not sure if you did it on purpose, but you have the double barrel names the wrong way round at one point.

    Like

the time has come, the walrus said, to talk of many things . . .

