photos of the ghosts of love

 

I shot in b & w back then

and there you are

in woolen vest she wove for you

to be your marriage vest

to bind you to her with the threads

of love, luxuria, and caring

I suppose meaningfully woven

but worn to no wedding when

she chose another over you

you lost the love of your life

all your hopes, dreams, and aspirations.

Funny, now looking at the picture

when our love was young,

my first love, my first true lover

and you had hair and I had hope and . . .

Is that her in the corner; photo of a ghost of love

Then, there is photo of the oddly unreal day when I wore

my marriage hat; straw with rusty-coloured flower and grosgrain ribbon

now perches lower as my hair fades away.

Fades as has your love, your caresses, your kisses

somewhere we lost love; you lost lust; I past caring

but not as my body aches

like my heart, for your touch

If you live in a dessert; then I in a swamp

photos now would show so many ghosts and

Our marriage picture should be in sepia

A vignette – all else has faded save my need

Written for a Dash of Sunny’s Prompt Nights 26: A photograph is but a memory in raw format

 

8 thoughts on “photos of the ghosts of love

  1. Oh this is so very tender and heart wrenching.. especially the lines ‘Fades as has your love, your caresses, your kisses somewhere we lost love; you lost lust; I past caring but not as my body aches like my heart, for your touch’ really touched me to the core. Beautifully executed. Thank you so much for participating at Prompt Nights and for your constant love and support.

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

    Like

the time has come, the walrus said, to talk of many things . . .

