TLT, week 31: Reconcile?

Sonya of only 100 words chose an evocative image for TLT week 31; I could write many lines about. I think Ive stretched the definition of what constitutes a sentence for this one.

photo by Alex Hockett

Biker chick shoved crumpled paper into my hand whispering “call him” before disappearing into the crowd; “him” would be Big Daddy Grunt aka Alan, my father.

An invisible presence whose letters, gifts, cards followed me throughout my life; now with my own little one, maybe he was ready to reconcile – what a grandfather figure HE would make.

As he approached our designated meeting spot, I clutched Zoey tighter, my eyes focusing on what I remembered, his tattooed and ringed hands; when I looked up into his eyes, he was crying.

8 thoughts on “TLT, week 31: Reconcile?

the time has come, the walrus said, to talk of many things . . .

