affliction/addiction

image: smashingmagazine.com

This is definitely an R on the reading scale – rough stuff suggested – for MindLoveMisery’s Menagerie Music Prompt: Constant Craving by k.d. lang

Baby, you know what I crave, what I need

what makes me buck and heave

but you won’t give and you won’t share

why the f should I care

I’ll take my affliction, my addiction elsewhere

Plenty of others crawl in the dusk

sniffing for the tell tale musk

ain’t so hard to find affection

when you’re got my affliction

when you’ve got my addiction

In the morning, I’ll be back

purring like a kitty cat

cause I feed my affliction

cause I indulged my addiction

so what the f should either of us care

who took what elsewhere

5 thoughts on “affliction/addiction

  1. Reminds me of some other ‘tunes’ of say superstars that seem to get what they want when they want it. Though if some agreements are forsaken (if they were ever made in the first place)…someone is bound to get hurt. Like the famed actor who allegedly took a tad more than their fair share and too many had paid the price – though it looks like that actor might just be receiving some karma as the world turns.

    I could see this as a current tune even with the language. Seeing as language isn’t as restrictive as it was a generation or two ago.

    Like

the time has come, the walrus said, to talk of many things . . .

